Shared worbook in
Shared workbook in
Excel helps to collaborate on a network and save time.
A shared workbook is setup to allow multiple users on a network to view
or edit the data at the same time. He can also view the changes made by
other users. The first step involved in creating a shared workbook is
to save the relevant file in a network location that is accessible to
all the users who will work on the data. The next step involves the
sharing of the workbook by clicking on 'Tools' and the 'shared
workbook'. You can also specify whether you want to track changes and
have the authority of accepting the changes. You can aslo view how many
people ar presently working on the workbook. When you save changes to a
shared workbook, another person who's currently editing the workbook
might have saved changes to the same cells. In this case, the changes
conflict, and a conflict resolution dialog box appears that allows you
to decide whose changes to keep.
Because the following features
can't be changed after a workbook is shared: merged cells, conditional
formats, data validation, charts, pictures, objects including drawing
objects, hyperlinks, scenarios, outlines, subtotals, data tables,
PivotTable reports, workbook and worksheet protection, and macros, the
author should setup these features carefully before sharing the
The training video describes all
the steps in good practical detail.